The Latest Addition To My Shrine

I just bought this at church after Liturgy. My monarchist friends should appreciate it, especially the Orthodox ones:

7 comments on “The Latest Addition To My Shrine

  1. Matt says:

    What brought you to Orthodoxy? I’m having a hard time picturing a Southern (Southron?) Nationalist being raised in an Orthodox household.

    • Well, despite my admiration for the South and my affection for (and appropriation of) her symbols, I’m not Southern by blood or birth and I’ve only been down there twice. I’m a broad-spectrum reactionary who sympathises with Southern (or Southron; I use both terms, though usually only the latter as a noun) Nationalism, among other causes.

      That said, you’re right to infer that I was not raised in an Orthodox household. I grew up in the Evangelical Church, but I didn’t have any particular denominational attachment. When the pastor told us we had a Christian duty to fund abortion if the government told us to, my family and I left the church (that is, I left that local ‘parish’; I had no concept that I was leaving a broader communion, even if in retrospect I objectively was) and began to seek another. We bounced from one non-denominational/evangelical church to another for a while, but settled nowhere.

      After a while of not going to church, and thinking more and more, having studied Church history a bit and Scripture a lot, that the whole Protestant program (especially Sola Scriptura) didn’t really make sense, I decided I was going to have to join a traditional Church. That narrowed my options significantly. After briefly considering, then dismissing, the claims of the High Church Lutherans and (Continuing) Anglicans, I was left with the following options:

      The Roman Catholic Church
      The Eastern Orthodox Church
      The ‘Oriental Orthodox’, ‘Monophysite’ or ‘Miaphysite’ Church
      The Assyrian Church of the East, or ‘Nestorian Church’

      The latter two I did not investigate as hard as the former two, I’ll admit. The Nestorians have zero presence anywhere near where I live and I couldn’t see any terribly compelling argument for their rather strange Christology or their rejection of the Third Ecumenical Council. A similar argument persuaded me against the OOs, although in their case I was somewhat comforted by the apparent unity of the two communions; there is a certain amount of intercommunion and many on both sides now recognise the other as orthodox. (Whether this is a good thing is still an open question for me).

      The two I investigated most seriously, then, were the Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox Churches.

      I wont pretend the modernist nonsense that sprung from Vatican II didn’t influence me against Rome on some level, but my primary reason for choosing Orthodoxy instead was that from what I knew of Church history, I couldn’t justify the claims of the papacy to infallibility or universal jurisdiction based on the way the Church was run before the Great Schism.

      So with that in mind, but not then entirely settled on either Church, I began to inquire at an Orthodox parish. My plan was originally to attend each of the Orthodox parishes in my area once or twice, but the second parish I visited made quite an impression on me, and after attending it once, I didn’t want to leave. So here I am, still in that parish.

      I was received as a catechumen around the beginning of September last year and baptised Holy Saturday of this year.

      And here I am, Orthodox archreactionary. I should add that I arrived at political and social traditionalism gradually, in a process that began before I became a religious traditionalist, and has only continued since then. The fact that the Orthodox Church is perhaps the most friendly to monarchist reactionaries like myself didn’t hurt either.

      • infowarrior1 says:

        “After a while of not going to church, and thinking more and more, having studied Church history a bit and Scripture a lot, that the whole Protestant program (especially Sola Scriptura) didn’t really make sense,”

        1 Corinthians 4:6
        I have applied all these things to myself and Apollos for your benefit, brothers, that you may learn by us not to go beyond what is written, that none of you may be puffed up in favor of one against another.

      • Hi Infowarrior,

        I’ve read the verse you quoted in context a few times. I’m still not quite sure what to make of it, to be honest; it’s not clear to me what ‘going beyond what is written’ has to do with the rest of what St Paul is talking about in this passage.

        However, let me draw your attention, in counter, to:

        2 Thessalonians 2:15

        Therefore, brethren, stand fast and hold the traditions which you were taught, whether by word or our epistle.

  2. Silouan says:

    Congratulations on being received into the Church. Many years!

    My godson bought me a charcoal sketch of Nicholas at the Holy Cross Hermitage in West Virginia; it is now a prominent part of my icon corner.

  3. […] Avenging Red Hand on how he became Eastern Orthodox. […]

  4. It’s not an icon. It’s Catholic art, and mawkish Catholic art at that.

Leave a Reply

